Our past, present, and future...

May 1, 1936, Bank of Terrell opened for business in the banking house on Main Street, Dawson, Georgia in the space formerly occupied by the Dawson National Bank. Well-known capitalists and businessmen of Dawson organized the bank. W.B. Haley of Albany was President, J.T. Haley of Albany was Vice-President, and R.C. Shepherd of Arlington was Cashier.

On March 22, 1967, approximately 31 years later, Bank of Terrell opened the doors to a new home at the corner of Lee Street and Stonewall Street. At the time, Mr. Rufus A. Hill was President, Mr. W. Gerue Dunn was Vice President, Mr. William Henry VanLandingham was Vice President of the board, R.R. Jones was Chairman of the Board, Robert T. Brown was Cashier, and Richard Forrester was Vice President. J.W. Whitaker, M.D. Laing, W.C. Woodall Jr., Dr. Walter D. Martin, and J.G. Wright also served on the board.

Bank of Terrell expanded its presence in 2002, with the opening of a full service bank office located at 3000 North Slappey Blvd. in Lee County, Georgia, under the name of Bank of Lee County, A Division of Bank of Terrell.

Bank of Terrell operates as an affiliate bank of a Bank Holding Company, Georgia Community Bancorp, Inc., which has offices in Dawson, Georgia. There are two additional affiliate banks in the Holding Company, Commercial State Bank in Donalsonville, Georgia and The Citizens State Bank of Taylor County in Reynolds, Georgia.

Bank of Terrell is a full service community bank which has served Southwest Georgia since 1936. We stand ready to serve all your banking needs. Times have changed, but the same principles on which our bank was founded still prevail. Every step we take is a milestone to make a better community. We welcome you to join us in celebrating our past, present and our future.